top of page

                                                                                                     Demons & Wizards
                                                                                                     Title: III

                                                                                                     Label: Century Media Records
                                                                                                     Release date: February 21, 2020

Demons and Wizards is one of the most legendary collaborations in the history of Heavy Metal featuring Jon Schaffer (Iced Earth) and Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian). So after a long wait at last we have their third Album and oh my God it’s going to be up there as one of the releases of the year, its progressive feel combined with choirs and classic Metal takes you on a journey of intense epic sounds to please all fans of this music we love so much.


A supernatural intro drags you screaming into “Diabolic” a full-on feast of mesmerizing, horns in the air Meltdown ensues as Hansi Kürschs unmistakable Vocals draw you in. There is no turning back as this superb work of art has you hooked and salivating at the mastery of this opening song.The towering an thematic pace continues with “Invincible” a power house track that punches out its intentions from the off its majestic tones and riffs have you addicted as does the phenomenal “Wolves in Winter “ with its “cha cha cha”, this is going to be immense when played at Wacken etc, imagine the whole crowd chanting  “cha cha cha” it gives you goose bumps just thinking about it! This is a huge track that’s already been released and has you howling in pure ecstasy! With its monstrous Riffs and Drums combined with Kürschs Vocals this magic carpet ride of atmospheric momentum just dosent cease as “Final Warning” embeds itself into your soul.

The next song is so insanely perfect and the strongest track on here, it has everything, immense Guitar riffs with exceptional singing from Kürsch, this nine and a half  minute monster  has you replaying it time and time again, it takes your breath away, this is pure perfection as “Timeless Spirit” becomes one with your mind body and soul.


A ghostly choir backs up “Dark Side of Her Majesty” a frantic work that’s sweeps you away on its magical joyride as riffs fly and you punch the air in salute. Then “Midas Disease” breaks outta ya speakers and surprises you with its different vibe you will either love it or hate it, personally I love it, the way it chugs like a runaway train heading straight for hell! The power infused Metal is continues with “New Dawn” and the epic stylings of “Universal Truth” and “Split” deliver more eargasmic heaven. Clocking in over ten minutes we come to the final number on here the heroic “Children of Cain” a mouth watering track that leaves you completely in awe at the mastery and evocative feelings, its beautiful atmospheric feel builds into a smorgasbord of heavenly face melting metallic heaven.

Possible Album of the Year already? You had Better believe it!


Review: Seb Di Gatto                Score:10/10

Reviewed: 19/02/20                      


Track listing

1. Diabolic

2. Invincible

3. Wolves In Winter

4. Final Warning

5. Timeless Spirit

6. Dark Side Of Her Majesty

7. Midas Disease

8. New Dawn

9. Universal Truth

10. Split      

11. Children Of Cain          





Line-up: Hansi Kürsch - Lead & Backing Vocals Jon Schaffer - Rhythm and Lead Guitars, Bass Guitar, 6 and 12 string Acoustic Guitars, Mandolin, Keyboards, Backing Vocals


Guest Musicians on “III”: Brent Smedley - Drums Jim Morris - Additional Guitars, Backing Vocals Jake Dreyer - Additional Guitars Ruben Drake - Bass  Thomas Hackman, Olaf Senkbeil, John Jaycee Cuipers, Zakery Alexander, Jeff Brant, Todd Plant, Jerome Mazza - Backing vocals  PA’dam chamber choir – Classical Choir



The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page