top of page

                                                                                                            Extinguish The Sun

                                                                                                   Title: Transformations

                                                                                                   Label: Mostly Annoyed

                                                                                                   Release date: 17th June 2022

Hailing from Illinois USA we have the amazing Extinguish the Sun with their sophomore album “Transformations”. 

The opening track is apt as you will find yourself fully “Sold” on this opus, it's a straight-shooting chunky opener with more punch than Tyson Fury! 

The guys take no prisoners as they continue to fire on all cylinders with “Deception”.  The impressive and bruising “Veganomics” kicks serious ass with its outstanding vibes. Things just get better and better as we delve into the eight-minute monster “Marooned” be prepared for heady bass lines courtesy of Daniel Edmunds. All interwoven with some sublime guitar riffs from Toms and Grobe, added to the immense vocals of Jeremy Miller and skinsman Michael Morley make this the strongest track on “Transformations”.

The heavy unrelenting metal continues as “Colors” pounds and bashes you’re being. Along with the previous track, this is a firm favorite for me on here, love the meandering guitar and almost Layne Staley-influenced vocals on this song, its mesmerizing vibe draws you in and sends shivers up and down your spine. “Improvise, Adapt, Overcome” is a thumping dark-edged song delivering its message with venomous intent.  Next, we get the angsty “Planet Nowhere” a slamming headbangingly addictive tune. Love the slow build-up as “Ancient History” enters the room, Extinguish The Sun continue to weave their magic, this has everything you could ask for its heavy melodic, and intense.

“And the Signal fades” brings this awesome work to an end, it’s consistent and captivating layered with an absolute barrage of great riffs and melodies.


This second album is a total ear fest with influences that range from Pantera to Mastodon these nine tracks ooze finesse and quality that batters your senses and leaves you in no doubt that these guys have an amazing future ahead of them.


Reviewed: Seb Di Gatto      Score:8.5/10




1. Sold

2. Deception

3. Veganomics

4. Marooned

5. Colors

6. Improvise, Adapt, Overcome

7. Planet Nowhere

8. Ancient History

9. And the signal fades


 Band Line up:

Jeremy Miller - vocals

Daniel Edmunds - bass, backing vocals

Jeremy Toms - guitar

Michael Morley - drums

Nick Grobe - guitar

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page