top of page

                                                                                                               Junkyard Drive

                                                                                                               Title: Black Coffee

                                                                                                               Label: Mighty Music

                                                                                                               Release Date: 1st September 2018

Junkyard Drive return with their follow up Album to “Sin and Tonic” and boy it’s a barnstorming Hard rocking wet dream of killer riffs and sugar coated vocals  that will have you dancing on the tables drinking copiously and generally having a damn good time, with hints of Airbourne  and  Guns n Roses  “Black Coffee” is full to the brim of good time boogying no nonsense Rock how it used to be and always should be!

Opening with “Time is over” its deep and meaningful lyrics rock your socks off as the super talented Kristian Johansen tells you how it is, combined with some scintillating Lead guitar man ship from Birk this is a hell of an opener and man these guys have developed leaps and bounds from their previous Debut release in 2015.

The latest single “Sweet little dreamer” has been getting massive airplay worldwide and like a few of the tracks on here remind me of classic Eighties Metal and is a tune that drags you back to those hazy days of poodle perms and rock n' roll debauchery with a twenty first century edge! “Make up your mind” is a foot stamping, head pummeling message that shakes the walls as the rest of the Band add backing Vocals to this statement of intent.


What I really love about this release is how different and diverse it is, yes we have sleazy Rockers like the superb “Backstreet Baby” to sing and bounce along too then we get tracks like the stunning and beautifully composed bluesy  “Way to long” it’s a song I have played time and time again, it simply moves this old tattooed rocker, it’s a work of art.

Tim Meldals Bass combined with Ben Høyers rhythm Guitar man ship open “Through the Door” it’s a slow burner that builds into something magnificent as Claus Munch’s Drums spring into life with Birks Lead guitar and Johannsen’s Vocals fully ignite this number.  

“Same old Story” and “Wasted Nights” continue the good time groove these Danes seriously Rock your world, with some kick ass riffs and powerful vocals to melt the ice caps as penultimate track “Where I Belong” "Busts outta ya speakers, it  is sleazy and hard edged, a tune to inspire and hopefully see Junkyard Drive go all the way!

This platter finishes with a competent booty shaking, horns in the air instrumental  “See you Next time” and I am sure we will soon!

“Black Coffee” is such a radio friendly release, it should appeal to a much wider audience than just the Hard Rocking crowd, its pretty damn hot to trot!


Review: Seb Di Gatto      Score:8.5 /10        Facebook



Track list:

1.Time Is Over

2.Sweet Little Dreamer

3.Sucker for Your Love

4.Make Up Your Mind

5.Backseat Baby

6.Way to Long

7.Through the Door

8.Same Old Story

9.Wasted Nights

10.Where I Belong!

11.See You Next Time


Kris - Lead Vocal
Birk - Lead Guitar/Backup Vocal
Benjamin - Rhythm Guitar/Backup Vocal
Claus - Drums/Cowbell
Tim Meldal - Bass

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page