top of page

                                                                                                             King Diamond
                                                                                                        Dreams of Horror
                                                                               Record Label:  Metal Blade   Release  Date  11th November 2014

King Diamond has had an amazing career in The Metal world and is a fully fledged  Metal legend.

As a vocalist, he is known for his extensive vocal range, in particular his usage of falsetto.


Since the band's inception, fans have been treated to 12 studio albums, most of which are concept albums: Fatal Portrait (1986), Abigail (1987), Them (1988), Conspiracy (1989), The Eye (1990), The Spider's Lullabye (1995), The Graveyard (1996), Voodoo (1998), House of God (2000), Abigail II: The Revenge (2001), The Puppet Master (2003), Give Me Your Soul …Please (2007).


A selection of songs  feature on this collection.

 I didnt really know enough about either Mercyful Fate or his solo work with King Diamond, So this is ideal for someone who hasnt  properly tasted  the dark  side of the Diamond.


This is  retrospective of  his solo work, and  is spread over two CDs,  there are twenty three tracks to please his fans and people new to the King!


"Dreams of Horror " is due to be released on his current label Metal Blade the Album encompasses his years with Roadrunner on CD One and  on CD Two his current label  and his releases  to date. 

All the songs are  in a chronological order.

Of course I know a fair few of the songs on this opus such as "Them" "Abigail"  "The Family Ghost", "At The Graves"  , "The Invisible Guest"and "Dreams of Horror". Tracks from his recent work include  "Never Ending Hill" "The Puppet Master" and "Shapes of Black" .

But I also found many tracks I didnt know of and was blown away.


I feel this is a must have for any one curious about this band.

It will of course be snapped up by collectors but people who already own the albums may not bother.

King Diamond chose the tracks personally and the sound quality is amazing, compared to the orginal releases and any true fan of King Diamond will want this is their collection , I promise you.


To sum up....

Diamonds high falsetto vocals can cut through you like a sharpened pentacle , this album will be savoured by collectors of the Danes work , and by those who like myself are unfamiliar with all of his work.


The treogtyve songs of occult and horror is worth buying and listening to on a dark night with  candles and the wind battering at your window panes as in your minds eye you see King Diamond prowling the stage!.




Review : M.A


Rating: 9/10



CD 1 –
1. The Candle
2. Dressed In White
3. The Family Ghost
4. Black horsemen
5. Welcome home
6. The Invisible Guest
7. At The Graves
8. Sleepless Nights
9. Let It Be Done
10. Eye Of The Witch
11. Insanity

CD 2 –
1. Dreams
2. The Spider’s Lullabye
3. Waiting
4. Heads On The Wall
5. Voodoo
6. Black Devil
7. Help!!
8. Spirits
9. The Puppet Master
10. Blue Eyes
11. Never Ending Hill
12. Shapes Of Black

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page