top of page



                                                                                                          Label: AFM Records

                                                                                                          Date: September 7th, 2018

Sweden just continues to amaze with its Heavy Metal/ Hard Rock pedigree and no more so than Gothenburg’s favourite sons Manimal “Purgatorio” is the Bands third Album and opens with all guns blazing with “Black Plague” the impressive and mighty Vocals of Samuel Nyman draw you in as the huge guitar sound of Henrik Stenroos has you instantly hooked and driving the band onwards we have Kenny Boufaene (Bass) and André Holmqvist on Drums, it’s a Metal heads dream with its fast kick in the face riffs and chugging momentum.


Title track “Purgatorio” is my favourite track on here its intense and thought-provoking lyrics delight, it’s a song I can’t get enough of, Nymans Vocals ooze passion through out this platter but no more so than on this the second track, interestingly “Purgatorio” is also the original title of the second part of the great  Dante Alighieris “The Divine Comedy” book. And like this famous piece of literature Manimal deliver a spell blinding piece de resistance on this song.

“Manimalized” is a colossal tune with its pounding delivery shaking the walls and upsetting the neighbours this is a pure Metal Meltdown! 

The next track is full of heavy Bass lines and Powerhouse drumming as “Spreading the Dread” sees you singing along, banging your head and raising the Metal Horns in salute to these Swedish maestros, and hell yeah Samuel Nyman’s influences shine through on here, with out a doubt a song Geoff Tate, Rob Halford and Kiske would be proud to of had in their repertoire.


“Traitor” hits and delivers a fiery punch to the guts with its message, again I can’t help drawing similarities to the Vocalists already mentioned as Nyman stretches his Vocal chords and the rest of Manimal seriously Rock n Fucking Roll!! “Behind enemy lines” is another pulsating rocker which sees the tempo brought down just a touch at first then ignites into more exquisite riffs and head banging delirium, which sees Nyman’s Vocals take on a sinister effect.

“Denial” beats and bludgeons your senses with its angsty defiance. “Edge of Darkness” has an edge of melancholy about it and the Guitar solo rips you a new one, it’s stunning. The evocative “The Fear within” brings this work of Metal excellence to an end.


What a tight extraordinary Album “Pugatorio” is, its full to the brim of death defying Power Metal, hell to leather Anthems and addictive tuneage this is one killer release to add to your collection and will hopefully see the worldwide recognition Manimal rightly deserve.


Reviewed By: Seb Di Gatto               Score:9/10

Reviewed:17.08.18    Facebook



1.Black Plague



4.Spreading the Dread


6.Behind Enemy Lines


8.Edge of Darkness

9.The Fear Within


Manimal are:

Samuel Nyman – Vocals

Henrik Stenroos – Guitars

Kenny Boufadene – Bass

André Holmqvist – Drums

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page