top of page

                                                                                                         Mors Principium Est
                                                                                                    Embers Of A Dying World
                                                                                                    Label:AFM  Records
                                                                         Release date:February 10th 2017 (Japan 25 of January 2017)
Ready to set the world on fire Mors Principium  Est Return with their Sixth Album "Embers of Dying World." Having first gotten into the band back in 2012 when I was sent "And Death Said Live" the love for these Melodic Death Metallers  grew and continued to grow with 2014s "Dawn of The Fifth Era" so with bated breath and a bit of impatience I got the new Album to Review, I just couldn't wait to hear the full release! And its pretty darn special!

Opening with a symphonic build up that flows into "Reclaim The Sun" a song that's already been released,so many will already will be familiar with this song, its Melodic and sublime with hook laden catchy riffs and  towering keyboards that will ensnare you as the band bring their brand of Melodic Death Metal and ingrain their sound on your cerebral cortex. Its a magnificent opener and instantly appealing.

"Masquerade" on the first listen I wasn't to keen as its very keyboard laden, but it grows on you as the  classical shredding, and  amazing  riffs embed themselves,  fully immersing  you into the song.
"Into The Dark" is dramatic and intense as  menacing growls draw you deep into the night as this song enchants and intrigues you.

The passion and ferocity continues as "The Drowning" builds into a crescendo of meaty guitar riffs with a pummelling Bass and Drum back beat.
Then we have  the piece de resistance on this album, the beautiful, melancholic "Death is The Beginning" it opens with a doleful, sad female vocal that  becomes  colossal as Ville  screams and growls , oh my ,this really sends shivers up and down your spine its frightening how beautiful and impressive this song is,it moves you , and scares you , the guitar solo cuts deep like a razor stinging into your soul.

"The Ghost" opens with a gentle feel then the blast beats kick in  going for the throat with its speeding delivery.

"In Torment" like the previous track races along  asking searching  questions as "Darkness Has Fallen" full of Melodic Menace this is impressive and growls at you  from the pits of damnation.

" Agnus Dei" is another stunning piece of musicianship and excellent  arrangement with a flowing guitar , a Latin mass and choral backing.(The Agnus  is "The Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world").


Penultimate track "The Colours of The Cosmos" steals you away from the brief reprieve of the previous track , this thunders and rampages into your presence with pulsating riffs and venomous outpourings of magnificence .
"Apprentice of Death" brings the Album to a close this  is the darkest track which is eerie , and atmospheric , it finishes off a quite outstanding  Melodic Death Metal opus.

With the growls and menace from  Ville Viljanen combined with the stupendous Guitar solos  from Andy Gillion added in with the powerhouse  section of Teemu Heinola  on Bass and  Mikko Sipola on Drums I think this could be the bands finest work to date ,I feel this is without a doubt  most addictive and absorbing release so far.
Mors  have had their fair share of line up changes but now seem to be a settled unit and I feel this shows equivocally on "Embers of A Dying World".

Review:Seb  Di Gatto  Score:9/10


Reviewed: 17.01.2017
01. Genesis
02. Reclaim The Sun
03. Masquerade
04. Into The Dark
05. The Drowning [bonus]
06. Death Is The Beginning
07. The Ghost
08. In Torment
09.  Agnus Dei
10. The Colours Of The Cosmos
11. Apprentice Of Death



Ville Viljanen - Vocals
Mikko Sipola - Drums
Teemu Heinola - Bass
Andy Gillion - Guitar




The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page