top of page

                                                                                                                                   Operation Mindcrime
                                                                                                                    Title: The Key
                                                                                                                    Label: Frontiers Records

                                                                                                                    Release Date 18th September
The Queensryche album Operation Mindcrime is one of my favourite concept Albums and now  The bands original Vocalist and one and only Geoff Tate returns with a new project called "Operation Mindcrime" collaborating on this venture are a lot of well known musicians : Bass Players David Ellefson (MEGADETH) and John Moyer (DISTURBED, ADRENALINE MOB),Drummers Simon Wright (AC/DC), Scott Mercado (CANDLEBOX) and Brian Tichy (BILLY IDOL, OZZY OSBOURNE), Guitarists Kelly Gray (QUEENSRYCHE) and Scott Moughton (Geoff Tate's solo band), Keyboardist Randy Gane (MYTH) and Vocalist Mark Daly (THE VOODOOS).

This is the first part of a trilogy which will be released over the following years. Geoff Tate loves concept Albums and has featured on some of the best like the aforementioned "Operation Mindcrime" and even named this project after that ground breaking release.


So naturally he has written a new concept album/s which follows thus "What would you do if you discovered the key to changing the way we view the world, the way we look at time, the way we travel, and could essentially change the human condition - for better or for worse"  proceedings open with  an eerie theme and a computer keyboard typing fast , voices build the tension  as you are allowed entry into "The Key" story, take it all in , you are transported this is a grand openin that see's a narrative and the computer being asked to offer suggestions for system termination, this Leads into "Burn" Tate and his cohorts weave their magic , lighting the fire with Gasoline , rocking into your consciousness, you can feel the band have gone for a progressive feel ,it Rocks the hell outta ya this is gigantic! More queries and questions are asked then "Re Inventing The Future" opens , combined with Tate spinning the puzzle, superb Riff's , making your brain  work , think , Imagine, and feel. 

This gets you thinking and wanting more and addicts you to the chronicle of "The Key" "Ready to Fly" is a dramatic number that's  quizzical, questioning you , asking of  world changing possibility.

My favourite track follows the doomy and creepy conversation thats held in "Discussion In A Smoke Filled Room" This is where Tate hands over vocal duties  The Voodoos front man Mark Daly on "Life or Death" I love the gravel in his voice and the way this song makes you think , would you take a life ? , possibly, but where do you draw the line? The chorus , indeed everything on this song sees you  digging deeper and deeper into this tale and the possession of "The Key".

"The Stranger" sees Tate  Rapping and boy can he rap, the great man himself admires Rap music and he really  twists his tongue , delivering some wonderful rhymes ,and without a doubt this tracks heavy , it knocks you senseless.

"Hearing Voices" and "On Queue" continue to transfix and bewitch you ,then nearly two minutes of dolefully sad strings mesmerise you "Kicking in The Door" is my least favourite song on here and one you kinda skip, once you get the story, the title gives it away! The final track "The Fall" its full to the brim with dynamic , breathtaking musicianship that cascades , shaking your world , leaving you impressed and enthralled.

So Finally lets be clear, comparisons with his former band are bound to be dredged up, but seriously  this is nothing like an album Queensryche ever did , or the new  " Queensryche"  could ever attempt with out Geoff Tate  This Album is an Awesome work of art and I cant wait for the next instalment!

Review Seb Di Gatto  Score:9/10

Track Listing:
01. Choices
02. Burn
03. Re-Inventing The Future
04. Ready To Fly
05. Discussions In A Smoke Filled Room
06. Life or Death?
07. The Stranger
08. Hearing Voice
09. On Queue
10. An Ambush Of Sadness
11. Kicking In The Door
12. The Fall

 Facebook   Website

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page