top of page


                                                                                               Label: SPV / STEAMHAMMER
Extermination” will be released in Scandinavia on April 22nd, in Germany on April 24th, in Europe on April 27th and in the USA on April 28th as a digipak version (incl. 1 bonus track), 2LP gate fold green vinyl version and download through SPV / STEAMHAMMER


Raven return after a five year wait with their new album "ExtermiNation" and I gotta tell you it is a simply outstanding, phenomenal release , its possibly their best ever Album! Formed all the way back in 1974 ,in the best,most vibrant ,and amazing City in the world ,Newcastle Upon Tyne,  these Metal Veterans have returned with a true Metal Monstrosity, it is out of this world, your head will hardly ever stop banging  to the fifteen tracks delivered with vigour ,and stamina that will  put today's youth to shame ,this is a fucking masterpiece and no lie! 


Having had the luck to see the band live a few years back , again after a very long time, they tore into the room and rocked that night , blowing back  the years, and from this release you can tell their isn't any stopping these warhorses.


I  remember buying the first ever issue of Kerrang back in the early eighties with Angus Young on the cover and Raven named on the front, then getting hold of   "Wiped Out"  and having my brain mashed as these Geordie's set the neighbourhood on fire with their exciting  thrashing / speeding Metal.

Yeah Raven  really really pissed off the neighbours when I was a youth!! as the Gallagher brothers and the bands drummer back then  Rob "Wacko" Hunter destroyed and delivered their brand of Metal to the Devonshire locals , the moors, and sheep!

Anyway to the new album its 2015, and some silly old rocker said last year that rock music is dead ?? err I don't think so.

Since we  started to do Album reviews here on The Metal Gods Meltdown last May, we have been totally , totally blown away by the quality of releases, even more so this year, and its only March!!


"Destroy All Monsters"   is the first track revealed to the world recently from the new album,  its fast , frantic with a damn angry delivery, it will strain your neck and have you jumping , bouncing , moshing and much more!  That's just only the first song! There is hardly any  let up am telling you , bang that head and show those horns as "Tomorrow" destroys all your brain cells, Hell Yeah! "Its Not What You Got" tells it how it is ,the lyrics are a statement and don't EVER let any  sad fucker tell YOU that you are to old to Rock , to party like you did when you were a teen!  No cash back No guarantees! Okay have written an essay and am only on the third track! So am gonna sum up the rest and give you an idea , if ya ain't already got it about the awesomeness of this opus.


The band deliver, and er new boy..New Boy!??! hes been with Raven since 87 Joe Hasselvander hits the drums with the verve and venom of a teenager on Ritalin, John Gallagher's voice sounds like it did back in the day, its still menacing and dangerous , combined with the deep bass guitar thudding and disturbing the devils slumber.


Mark Gallagher's guitar gives the continued fastness and tenacity of a youth picking up and playing his first metal gig its flying throughout and kind of mesmerises you on "Battle March". The guitars tear into your being on "Feeding The Monster" it draws blood  with the scintillating solos. "Scream" ," Thunder Down Under" "No Surrender" the list goes on every track a winner! If I was pushed I would say the album highlights are.. ALL of Them!  I could go on but won't, there will be no room left on the webpage !   It just doesn't stop except for a 53 second reprieve much later on and perhaps the  penultimate track "River of No Return"  which is a truly extraordinary song, its like a fight for your rights kind of song , this song will lift the gloom on a dark winters day.  Final song is the excellent and hilarious "Malice In Geordie Land " just immense ,no spoilers here go and buy the Album at the end of the month!

As I recently said about another album I reviewed from a band formed in the Eighties is "Proper" Metal! of course Raven were formed in the Seventies ,it  makes this release even  more remarkable!  No cookie Monster growls , symphonic or depressing stuff here, No this band of Veterans have torn up the damn rule book, put two fingers up to the world and stood , delivered and then some!! Get this album and Raise your Horns to RAVEN!!

Review : Seb Di Gatto      Score : 10/10

1. Destroy All Monsters
2. Tomorrow
3. It`s Not What You Got
4. Fight
5. Battle March/Tank Treads (The Blood Runs Red)
6. Feeding The Monster
7. Fire Burns Within
8. Scream
9. One More Day
10. Thunder Down Under
11. No Surrender
12. Golden Dawn
13. Silver Bullet
14. River Of No Return
15. Malice In Geordieland (Bonus Track)

John Gallagher – bass, lead vocals 
Mark Gallagher – guitar, backing vocals 
Joe Hasselvander – drums, backing vocals


Facebook   Website    Twitter

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page