top of page

                                                                                                                     The Agonist

                                                                                                              Title: Five

                                                                                                              Label : Napalm Records

                                                                                                              Release Date: 30th September 2016                          

Five comes out at the end of the month,it promises to be one of the best female fronted Metal Albums of the year.

Opening with  deep resonating tones ,and hums akin to life in a Buddhist monastery “The Moment” sees Vickie Psarakis Vocals mixed ,with hellish brutality , and heavenly delight this is a barn storming opener to what is potentially one of my favorite Albums of 2016.

Next we get “The Chain” , this like “The Moment”  has already been unleashed on the Metal Masses. We get a shed load of Releases to review but as soon as I heard this song I just knew we had to cover “Five”.

I love Vickie’s clean vocals ,but the growls make your neck hairs stand on end and tickle your senses!!  A highlight (one of many) on the album has to be “The Anchor and Chain” the growls are from the deepest pits of damnation ,the vocals so powerful , the lyrical content is simply phenomenal as Vickie exercises her larynx to the max , the guitar's virtuosity adds to this fabulous song.


 “The Game” is gonna go down a storm live , in fact same can be said for most of the tracks on here ,but this one is sheer head banging, crowd surfing perfection , sing your lungs out with the stunning chorus.

“The Ocean” is a little bit gentler than the previous tracks ,it’s an interesting piece. Next the guitars kind of grind as “The Hunt” opens up , the musical, magical ,tapestry is woven into your brain this is another song with a kick ass chorus.

Then things take an unusual and brave turn with “The Raven Eyes” this is a beautiful piece that evokes smoky bars, and defiant cabaret rooms  the piano and acoustic guitar are bathed in Vickie’s lush and warming vocals , she demonstrates that she is a phenomenally multi-talented singer this is simply a gorgeous piece and totally unexpected.


 “The Wake” follows , this  is an orchestral piece that’s huge and defiant. “The Resurrection” wakes you from your slumber this is a beastly ,head banging ,neck destroying song as the Bass rumbles out of your speakers and the room shakes as the band are back to speed. And it doesn’t stop as “The Villain” beats your head against the wall with it's heavy drumming, and insanely addictive guitars.  “The Pursuit of Emptiness” draws you in with  mesmerizing effects.

“The Man Who Fell to Earth” is a real power trip with acoustic parts that work so well it's effect will leave you spellbound and wanting more, its tremendous, hypnotic and edgy.

Final track “The Trial” opens with an orchestral refrain that then transcends into a catchy and deliriously compelling piece as the court is assembled and the accused is brought in to answer for his misdeeds.


There is an extra track ,as an added bonus a cover of The Hozier’s “Take me to Church” which is a sterling representation of this song.

To sum up “Five” is a must have Album it’s not as Heavy or brutal as the bands previous releases it's true, but you cannot help but be in awe of this offering, it's powerful, gritty and going to be simply amazing live.




Review Seb Di Gatto    Score 10/10

Reviewed: 11/09/16


 "Five" track listing:

01. The Moment
02. The Chain
03. The Anchor and The Sail
04. The Game
05. The Ocean
06. The Hunt
07. The Raven Eyes
08. The Wake
09. The Resurrection
10. The Villain
11. The Pursuit of Emptiness
12. The Man Who Fell to Earth
13. The Trial
14. Take Me to Church (HOZIER cover) (bonus edition only)


Members: Vicky Psarakis - Vocals | Danny Marino - Guitar | Chris Kells - Bass | Simon McKay- Drums | Pascal "Paco" Jobin - Guitar

        Facebook     Website


The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page