top of page

                                                                                                               Our  Endless War

                                                                                                                Metal Blade  

American death core band Whitechapel return with their fifth album, it’s blistering, deep, heavy with angst and venom. The album opens with an orchestral intro 'Rise' then bang! 'Our Endless War' explodes into your mind, with Phil Bozeman’s growls and superb musicianship from the band, this is what you expect from a Whitechapel song, this is a super opener with an anathematic line ... “Let’s take back our justice for all” ... ringing in your ears.  You can’t fault such a strong opener then first single from the album is up next 'The Saw Is The Law'. 


The bass is dead heavy and will wreck your brain cells!  'Mono' Is possibly my favourite track on here, it delivers what Whitechapel do best, it's jaw-smashingly good, malovenant and vicious. With an evocative atmosphere brought in by the bands three guitarists this gets inside your head, snarling and taunting. 


The next song 'Let it Burn' is powerful with an opening lyric ... “The Mouth of Hell is Open Wide” ...  you know you are in for something formidable as the band unleash a melting pot of grooves and drum licks that sear and explode, as Bozeman commands 'Let It Burn'.  The track ends with a middle eastern vibe to it.  This is the second song I have heard recently that describes the world we live in today 'Worship the Digital Age'. 


Technology is taking over our lives.  The song is disturbing, so very true as we all sell our souls and worship the digital age!  Poignant and thought provoking.


'Psychopathy' straps you in and the needle pierces your skin as the wall of metal pounds and destroys all in its way.  'Diggs Road' delves into the hardship when loved ones, are lost and mourning leading to thoughts of suicide.  It’s a restrained, with much meaning and quite a strange unexpected number from them, but it works as does the whole album.  Love them or hate them I would rate this album as one of their best and well worth listening to.


Review by: Seb Di Gatto



1. Rise
2. Our Endless War
3. The Saw Is The Law
4. Mono
5. Let Me Burn
6. Worship
7. The Digital Age
8. How Things Have Changed
9. Psychopathy
10. Blacked Out

11.Diggs Road

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page