top of page

                                                                                                            Rebellious Spirit  
                                                                                                  Gamble Shot  SPV / Steamhammer Records    


If you love your hair metal, you are going to be blown away by Rebellious Spirit.  'Gamble Shot' is the band’s debut and is full of 80's metal the way it used to be and dragged kicking and screaming into the Twenty First century, complete with bandanas, mascara, and  sleazy riffs aplenty!  


Now while many of the sleaze glam rock bands in the UK do a sterling  job, these German rockers formed in Bisingen, Germany in 2010, bring something else, something fresher to the table and this is all the more surprising when you discover the band are all below the age of 20! 


Heavily influenced by Poison, Motley Crue, Enuff ZNuff, White Lion, Skid Row the list goes on, these teutonic glamsters have hit the needle into the groove with studded snakeskin boots and come up trumps! From the start you are dragged back into the sunset strip of the 80's, 'Let’s Bring Back' jigs and strolls up to you slapping you in the face, with a sing-along chorus it twists and moves. 


Jannik Fischer on guitar and vocals, his brother Jens Fischer on bass, Silvio Bizer on drums and Corvin Domhardt on guitar, deliver a stomping opener and the musicianship is stunning. Now the opener was catchy, just wait until you hear 'Sweet Access Right', it's sleaze-tastic, addictive and a fun number to party to.  Possibly my favourite together with the next song on here, but to be fair all the songs are excellent.

'Cry For You' is a masterpiece of fun, it's cheeky and I love the “Kick-Start My Heart” line, a bow to the bad boys of the scene Motley Crue. 


It’s so heartening to find adolescents taking on this genre of rock and coming up winners, I mean the Eighties are a far off memory for most of us, and to find a band like Rebellious Spirit delivering such work is amazing.  Talking of amazing 'Change The World' is a top notch ballad delivered with passion and feeling. Think Poison's 'Something to Believe In' with a smattering of Motley Crue's 'Home Sweet Home'. This song should be getting regular airplay on national radios worldwide. 


'Lights Out' is the bands first single from 'Gamble Shot' and rocks into the Rainbow Bar and Grill on the strip and cranks out some juicy riffs, hell to studded leather, fist-punching, shaking your head and body to the slick and sleazy wonderment that is Rebellious Spirit.  Next is the aptly named 'Gone Wild' and continues the all night party! Believe me it really does. 

'Don’t Leave Me' will leave you open mouthed, is this really a debut from a band of youngsters? Seriously, it’s hard to not keep making comparisons, but this song and indeed the next track could easily be on any album featuring rock icon Sebastian Bach. 


'Forever Young' and NO! it’s not a cover of Tyketto's song, but is as good as, but a tad more heavier, as is the final rocking song 'Rock It', it's fist-pumping, head-banging, dancing in the moonlight with stilettos and your hair flowing, immersed in the hair metal of yesteryear.  You know I feel like I have just listened to a album from my youth, and it’s taken me right back, its amazing that such a band can bring the noise, sounds and feelings of my long ago youth.. GET THIS ALBUM!!! You won’t be disappointed in the slightest!!!    


Review by: Seb Di Gatto



1. Let's Bring Back
2. Sweet Access Right
3. Cry For You
4. Change The World
5. Lights Out
6. Gone Wild
7. Don't Leave Me
8. You're Not The Only One
9. Forever Young
10. Rock It   

The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page