top of page

                                                                                                             Title: Play Your Part
                                                                                                             Label: ROCK SHOTS Records
                                                                                                             Release: 20th May 2022
Want a feel-good buzz to these shitty days of war and the face-nappy hangover of COVID19? Then classic Italian hair metal-inspired SANDNESS is the perfect cure!
I tell ya we get a thirteen-track monster of feel-good tunes with their fourth album “Play Your Part.”

Opening with “High tide” it's time to get on your dancing shoes and boogie on down as this track washes over you and has you jiving into the night with its catchy chorus it has you singing along in no time and grooving as you work out to this cracking opener.
“No Filter” rocks up and has you raising your horns to the sky as we sing the chorus then a scintillating solo raises the hairs on your neck, probably my favorite track on this platter. Oh, wait no the next one is .. haha, it changes every time I play this 80s hair fuelled rocking opus as the excellent “Someone so bad” kicks ass!

I love the super talented Mark Denkleys catchy vocals as “Today Tonight” intro booms outta your speakers and its woaah, woaaah hook you in and drags me back to those hot and sunny days of the 80s as the drums are pounded by Metyou and Robby Luckett produces some delicious licks on his guitar and has the room dancing all night long.
“Supernova” and “Be the one” continue that feel-good vibe and keep those feet tapping and singing along.

Things slow down a bit with “Give it all” which has that swaying side to side moments then it's time to “Leave the lights on” another fun tune that has to be the next single? methinks so!
The radio-friendly rock continues as the super balladesque “All I've learnt” has your lighters out..oops sorry your light on your phones lit up!
It's 2022 I forget..ealth and safety and all that!
“Be the one” is a real meaty rocker with the woah woahs it will have everyone dancing on tables in no time, as yet another killer solo bleeds outta the speaker's hell yeh!

Next up we get “The one who tricked the devil” it's so damn infectious and sees me signing away my life to the horned one as this song embeds itself into my head, deffo another favorite on here for me.
As I mentioned this work has thirteen tracks and for me “Bad company” and “Go with the flow! could have been left off here, they would be B sides back in the day. Finally, we get a cover of Kiss's “Turn up the night” a stellar cover, and ends up top-notch work of art!

If you are looking for a mix-up of Metal, classic rock combined with poppy overtones, and a mental positive attitude then “Play Your Part” is for you.

Review: Seb Di Gatto Score: 8.5/10

Track Listing:
1. High Tide
2. No Filter
3. Someone So Bad
4. Today Tonight
5. Supernova
6. All I’ve Learnt
7. Be The One
8. Give It All
9. Lights On
10. The One Who Tricked The Devil
11. Bad Company
12. Go With The Flow
13. Turn On The Night (Kiss Cover – Bonus Track)

Band Line Up:
Mark Denkley – Bass guitar, lead and backing vocals
Metyou ToMeatyou – Drums and backing vocals
Robby Luckets – Guitars, lead and backing vocals


The Metal Gods Meltdown

bottom of page